Google Translate

Safeguarding

Kingfisher School ensures that all children learn in a safe, caring and enriching environment. Children are taught and offered support to keep themselves safe, to develop positive and healthy relationships and to avoid situations where they might be at risk, including being exploited by others.

 

Kingfisher School recognises safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children is everyone’s responsibility. Everyone who comes into contact with children and their families has a role to play. If you are worried about the safety of any young person in our school, you must report this to a member of the Safeguarding Team.

 

Each case is treated with dignity and respect, and we work closely with external agencies, family and the students themselves to ensure they feel safe, nurtured and receive the appropriate level of support to allow them to achieve their full potential.

 

The school has a statutory responsibility to share any concerns it might have about a child in need of protection with other agencies and in particular police, health and children’s services. Schools are not able to investigate concerns but have a legal duty to refer them. In most instances, the school will be able to inform the parents/carer of its need to make a referral.

 

However, sometimes the school is advised by Children’s Social Care or police that the parent/carer cannot be informed whilst they investigate the matter. We understand the anxiety parents/carers understandably feel when they are not told about any concerns from the outset. The School follows legislation that aims to act in the interests of the child.

 

Name Role Email Telephone
Nicola Smith Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) nicola.smith@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Karen McArthur Deputy DSL karen.mcarthur@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Angela Hirons Deputy DSL angela.hirons@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Neil Clapham Deputy DSL neil.clapham@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Andy  Morris Deputy DSL andy.morris@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Sarah Harris
Deputy DSL
sarah.harris@kingfisherschool.co.uk
Samantha Gould Safeguarding Governor
John Agg E-Safety Lead john.agg@clpt.co.uk

If you have any questions about this information, please speak to a member of staff.

Anonymous Reporting

Anonymous Reporting to a member of our Team